Request: Terrible Things

Requested by curlyhairflip

Nonoo really loved his grandson. So when he saw Tsuna crying due to having been bullied on his fifteenth birthday, he decided to share something to him.

By the time I was your age,
I’d give anything
To fall in love truly,
was all I could think

“When I was your age, I was very problematic. I rebelled and fought. I was really lonely, and it then that I met your grandmother.”

That’s when I met your mother, the girl of my dreams
The most beautiful woman, that I’d ever seen

“She was the one I needed to change. She was always there for me, never letting me down.”

Tsuna sniffed. “It seems you were really happy…”

Nono chuckled. “Yes, we were…”

She said, “Boy can I tell you a wonderful thing?
I can’t help but notice, you’re staring at me.
I know I shouldn’t say this,
but I really believe
I can tell by your eyes that you’re in love with me”

“She immediately knew I loved her. I was so flustered and all I could do was ask if she likes me back. You know, she didn’t answer. She just kissed me.”

Tsuna stopped crying. “That’s…sweet.”

Nono nodded. “Yes, very.”

Now son, I’m only telling you this…
Because life, can do terrible things

Nono patted Tsuna’s head affectionately. “Remember to listen closely okay? I know it might not really help, but remember, if Iemitsu will not be here, Nono will always be there is life becomes a bitch, okay?”

Tsuna nodded and smiled softly. “Yeah. It sure as hell it can.”

Now most of the time, we’d had too much to drink
And we’d laugh at the stars and we’d share everything
Too young to notice, and too dumb to care
Love was a story, that couldn’t compare

“We were young and innocent. So pure and happy, like you. We went out at night and went stargazing. We played in the day like there was no tomorrow like children. We were sure nothing can separate us.”

Tsuna nodded. All those in a relationship always believed that they would be forever, that didn’t take note of th possible future.

I said, “Girl, can I tell you a wonderful thing?
I made you a present with paper and string.
Open with care now, I’m asking you, please.
You know that I love you, will you marry me?”

“The day came I proposed to her. She agreed without any second thoughts. Soon, we were kissing in front of the altar in white. We all drank, danced and laughed. Stories were exchanged, and then, our life as a married couple began.”

Now son, I’m only telling you this…
Because life, can do terrible things
You’ll learn, one day, I’ll hope and I’ll pray
That God, shows you differently

“We were happy and married. We lived happily, with me as the new boss, and her always beside me. She then became pregnant, and then, my first son was born. A few years down the road, the next two were born. We were living happily…until that day.”

She said, “Boy can I tell you, a terrible thing?
It seems that I’m sick and I’ve only got weeks.
Please, don’t be sad now, I really believe
You were the greatest thing that ever happened to me”

“It seemed that she was sick and didn’t tell me. She had a weak heart since birth, and the killing and bloodshed our famiglia has been doing didn’t help her poor heart at all. It was then I learned…that life really can do terrible things.” Nono began to sob.

Tsuna could do nothing but hug him. He was selfish. He was crying over being bullied, complaining about life, but here was his grandfather, who has suffered life more than he has.

Slow, so slow
I fell to the ground, on my knees

“I couldn’t accept it. I fell down crying, and my sons comforted me. She said it will be alright, but it was not and never will be. She was dying, barely a year to live. She still smiled as she cried on her deathbed. I couldn’t do anything as she died, but cry on the ground, knees weak.” Nono smiled wistfully.

“You see, Tsuna. Don’t be bothered by the small details of life. Bullying may hurt, but you and I both know that you can and will experience things more painful. You are man, Tsuna. So don’t cry.” Nono reassured him.

Tsuna looked up at his grandfather. The man here isn’t him, it’s his grandfather.

So don’t fall in love, there’s just too much to lose
If given the choice, then, I’m begging you, choose
To walk away, walk away, don’t let her get you.
I can’t bear to see the same happen to you.

“So Tsuna, when the time comes, remember to choose wisely. Choose a path that you won’t regret. Choose the path that you are sure that someone will accompany you all the way.” Nono said.

Tsuna nodded and hugged him. “Thank you, Nono. You helped me realize a lot of things…”

—TEN YEARS LATER—

Tsuna sat in front of Nono’s grave along with a little boy at the age of five, who looked exactly like him.

“Ne papa, why did you tell me all that?” the boy asked.

Tsuna just smiled and quoted his grandfather.

“Now son, I’m only telling you this…
…Because life, can do terrible things”

—I hope this was good enough for curlyhairflip—

2 thoughts on “Request: Terrible Things

Leave a Reply

